Rowan University chemist wins prestigious award in separation science | Rowan These days

Rowan University’s Dr. James Grinias has been given the American Chemical Society’s 2021 Satinder Ahuja Award for Young Investigators in Separation Science. The prestigious national award acknowledges and encourages exceptional contributions to the industry of separation science by a younger chemist or chemical engineer from academia, sector or countrywide laboratories. 

Grinias, an associate professor in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry in the College of Science & Arithmetic, is discovering new, two-dimensional liquid chromatography strategies to advance the way experts individual molecules discovered in chemical mixtures. 

“It’s a far more powerful technological know-how that permits you to accommodate much more complex samples, maximize the throughput of assessments, and produce significantly less chemical waste,” Grinias claimed. 

Liquid chromatography is one particular of the most extensively made use of techniques in chemistry. Since the approach is so vital to study in all spots of chemical analysis, the gains Grinias will make have the prospective to resonate throughout the discipline of chemistry.

Grinias earlier gained the Countrywide Science Foundation’s Job Award, its maximum award to help early-occupation school who have the prospective to serve as tutorial position types in analysis and schooling. 

Dr. Karen Magee-Sauer, dean of the Faculty of Science & Arithmetic, claimed she was happy of the chemist’s operate.  

“Simply mentioned, he is amid our strongest youthful faculty at Rowan,” reported Dr. Karen Magee-Sauer, dean of the Higher education of Science & Arithmetic.

Grinias attained his Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill under the steerage of Professor James Jorgenson, followed by a National Institutes of Health and fitness postdoctoral fellowship appointment at the University of Michigan in the lab of Professor Robert Kennedy. 

Grinias joined Rowan College as an assistant professor in January 2017. Outside the house of the lab, he has served on many convention arranging committees, multiple journal editorial advisory boards, and on the Government Committee of the Chromatography Forum of Delaware Valley.