Social Sciences Division celebrates superb students

As spring quarter attracts to a near, the Division of Social Sciences is recognizing excellence in scholarship and exploration by way of its once-a-year student awards ceremony. Dean Katharyne Mitchell will guide the celebration, which is becoming held virtually on June 4th from 11 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. Twenty-a person students from far more than 12 distinctive academic courses will be honored for their achievements. 

“We are so very pleased of our college students, who have all shown incredible resilience, dedication, and leadership in the earlier year,” stated Social Sciences Dean Katharyne Mitchell. “This is an opportunity to recognize extraordinary college students and rejoice their a lot of successes.”

The 2021 college student awardees from the Social Sciences Division are detailed under. Simply click each student’s name to read through much more about them in their student profile.  

Division of Social Sciences awards

Gabriel Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship:

This scholarship was established to honor Gabriel “Gabe” Zimmerman, the alum who was shot and killed in the 2011 attack on Arizona Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords. Zimmerman was operating as Giffords’ local community outreach director at a constituent-engagement party he experienced organized when gunshots rang out he ran in direction of Giffords, who was gravely wounded in the assassination try. Gabe was killed. The scholarship was set up in the months just after the shooting by UC Santa Cruz graduates Jonathan Klein (Merrill ’89, politics) and Alex Clemens (Porter ’89, international politics) and has considering that attracted help from much more than 520 donors. It supports undergraduates who are passionate about social problems and dedicated to social provider.

Walsh Relatives Scholarship:

This scholarship was proven by Economics Professor Carl Walsh and his spouse, Judy Walsh (MS, ’90, used economics), in honor of Carl’s moms and dads Eugene and Bessie Walsh. The award is presented to one particular or extra undergraduates inside of the Division of Social Sciences, based mostly on academic merit and fiscal need to have.

Weiss Family members Scholarship:

The Weiss Loved ones Scholarship was recognized in 2005 by Timothy and Jean Weiss to help learners in Schools Nine and Ten. It is presented to just one or more students who are functioning directly with college who are affiliated with a divisional investigate heart.

Benjamin Quaye Memorial Award:

The Benjamin Quaye Memorial Endowment for Social Justice was established in 2016 to honor the memory of UC Santa Cruz undergraduate Benjamin Quaye. Ben had a powerful determination to spreading values of tolerance and social justice, and this scholarship supports learners pursuing educational and career objectives in these places. 

Keeley Coastal Scholars Award:

The Keeley Coastal Students Award supports underrepresented undergraduates by delivering the economic help required to have interaction in summer months exploration and plan perform associated to coastal sustainability. Previous Assemblyman and Santa Cruz County Treasurer/Tax Collector Fred Keeley is a commonly identified winner of the coastal setting and the creator of the Maritime Lifestyle Administration Act.

Milam-McGinty-Kaun Award for Training Excellence:

Professor Emeritus of Economics David Kaun proven this award in 1999 to understand two proficient training assistants each and every calendar year. He was encouraged to endow the award and title it immediately after the first recipients, international economics graduate college students Garrett Milam and Matt McGinty, who have been TA’s in Kaun’s Intermediate Microeconomic Concept program. Recipients are chosen every 12 months primarily based on educational benefit, just one from Economics and a person from another division in the Social Sciences Division. 

Campuswide awards

Students in the Division of Social Sciences also received campuswide Deans’ and Chancellor’s Awards. Deans’ awards figure out excellent accomplishment by undergraduates in each and every educational division. Every university student or workforce functions on a senior analysis or milestone challenge less than the mentorship of a school member. A committee in just about every division selects 10 Deans’ Award recipients. Of those people, up to a few in every division may also be chosen to get a Chancellor’s Award. 

2020 Deans’ Undergraduate Award and Chancellor’s Award: 

2020 Deans’ Undergraduate Award:

For a complete listing of 2021 Social Sciences college student award and scholarship recipients, which includes departmental awards, look at out the student profiles section of the division’s website.